Description of Canonical Time

How does Dr Watson refer to various times of the day? On a 24 hour basis, the 8 quarters of the day are:

  1. Night
  2. Pre-Dawn
  3. Early Morning
  4. Late Morning
  5. Early Afternoon
  6. Late Afternoon
  7. Early Evening
  8. Late Evening

How does Dr Watson refer to these periods of the day throughout the Canon? Is there a repetitive pattern to his descriptions? Is there a “Standard British”  protocol for these period of the day descriptions?